BeccaBear's Blog

The cat’s pajamas

The Daily Prompt: Exhale

We are blind for some time in our life. Some people longer than others.
And there is a moment in time when we finally open our eyes to the horrible truths.

It is not a slow process, but being thrown in front of a speeding car at night.
A ‘deer in the headlights’ look if you will.

It is living in a dark cave from the beginning and then being forced out of the cave into the sunlight.

And you can’t blink,
or breath,
or live without being in constant fear of what you may see.

And then one day you forget to keep your eyes open and shut them for just a second.
And you think to yourself
“Well, that wasn’t too bad.”

So you do it again, and again, and again until you are finally able to
blink
and breath
and live.

While carrying with you the knowledge that you may one day wonder into the middle of the road again,
Perhaps with a different car this time,
And you may get that deer in the headlights look.

But as long as you move off the road and teach yourself to breath again,
You will keep going.

Inhale.
Exhale.

 

~

There are many defining moments in my life where I have felt as such, a lot of which I have discussed on this blog.

One of those defining moments was when my mother was first diagnosed with breast cancer. She had to undergo chemo therapy, which many of you may know is hard to watch your loved ones go through. And if you have gone through it yourself, I am so happy you are reading this right now.

The moment I knew everything would be alright was when I came home from school one day, and my step father was bald. I was so confused by the abrupt change because his receding hairline haunted him since I met him and he tried every day to hide it.

There is no hiding bald.

But, when I went into my mom’s room: I understood.
She too was bald.

Her hair was coming out and in an effort to make her feel better about it after he helped shave her head, he handed her the razor and said
“Shave my head, too.”

That was when I closed my eyes,
And taught myself to breath again.

Because I knew with so many loving and caring people around her for support,
She could kick cancer’s ass.

And she did,
many times now.

And hopefully this time for good.

One response to “The Daily Prompt: Exhale

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: STILL WAITING TO EXHALE | SERENDIPITY

Leave a Reply

