BeccaBear's Blog

The cat’s pajamas

Makeup Tutorial Time!

I’m going to do this one a little different than the last one I did. There is only one style of makeup for this post instead of multiple.  And instead of drawing it out I took progressive shots of what I used and how I applied it so hopefully it will make more sense and you can actually understand what the colors are suppose to look like. If you saw my previous makeup tutorial (link provided if you did not) please let me know if you like this style better!

~Cheers

Image

I started out with all of this crap for my face. Yeah, it’s a lot but I have a terrible complexion and scars so it’s kind of required. From bottom right to left is how I apply it and the brush to the left of the product is the brush I use to blend or apply.

Image

From left to right is:

1. eye brow/ mascara brush
2. the thin lined brush I use for the black shadow liner and my eyebrows
3. this one I use for the bottom shadow (after applying eyeliner) and to highlight my brow
4. this is a round flat brush perfect for getting those good angles on the top lid eyeshadow
5. this is my big blender brush I used for the first light grey color (also good for blending different eyeshadow colors together)
6. Blush brush for my bronzer
7. Blush brush for my actual blush

ImageImage

First, using my favorite Tarte palette and brush number 5, apply the lighter grey color with the blending brush over it like so:

Image

Blending across the top lid and in the crease of your eye.

Image

Next, using my favorite black eyeliner by Tarte I lined the bottom and top waterline of my eye.

Image

Its ok to get liner on the outside of the bottom water because it will be used as a primer for the eyeshadow that’s going down there next! Normally I use white eyeliner to make my eye look larger but this time I was going for a more narrow looking eye, you’ll see why when we are done!

ImageImage

Next, using these two awesome colors by Pretty Zombie Cosmetics and brush number 3 apply them to the inside and outside of your bottom lid.

Image

Like so! I use this white for almost every makeup look I create it is by far my favorite.

Image

Next, using the Witches Brew color and brush number 4, apply to top lid like so.

ImageImage

After that use the Graveyard Dust (#4 still) on the inside corner of where you lined the Witches Brew, to give you a darker color on the outside of your eye and lighter on the inside.

Image

Next, using the Wicked White again and brush number 3, highlight the brow arch.

Image

After that is done you want to use this awesome black color (or any black shadow you see fit) to light your eye as you would with eyeliner along with brush number 2.

Image

I like to make the basic shape of how I will do my liquid liner.Image

Before I move onto liquid liner though, I like to do my eyebrows first! The reason behind this is I use eyeshadow. If you use the shadow after liquid liner the extra shadow may drop in your eyeliner, thus forcing you to re apply your eyeliner. Not a bad thing but I feel it is an unnecessary set.

Image

I have very red hair, so I do my eyebrows RED. To start with I draw the top and bottom line of my eyebrow with a dark brown.

Image

Then, using this amazing red color and brush number 2:

Image

Do the same over the dark brown. I left a little of my hair in the picture to show you the color comparison. I like it brighter up front but I could make it darker using more brown depending on what I am doing for the dark and whether I am going to work 😛

Image

Next, it’s time for the liquid liner!

Image

Here is the basic line I go by.

Image

Using whatever thickness you want draw from the outside corner of your liner to the inside; leave a little room between the black eyeshadow and the liner so it looks like it blends. This is still wet which is why the liner is so shiny, I really wanted you to be able to see where I drew my liner though.

Image

Next, I used Poisonella and brush number 2 on the outside of the black liquid liner like so:

Image

And drew another line of liner on the outside of it to make it really stand out.

Image

The mascara I used for this look was the purple one, though I wanted to show you my absolute favorite by Tarte, which is the Gifted Amazonian Clay! They happened to be out of it so I bough a different Tart mascara, which is still a pretty good mascara.

Image

Voila! I tried to get a good picture of my eyelashed. You can use falsies if you wish, I don’t like them personally.

Image

Cover with your really dirty Urban Decay Makeup setting spray…

Image

Topped off with your favorite circle lenses*…

Image

And Huzzah! You’re ready for your day!

Hope you liked this 🙂 Be sure to let me know if you recreate the look on your blog I would love to see it!

**You should always put your circle lenses/ contacts in BEFORE you do your makeup to avoid getting makeup in your eye, ruining your awesome makeup you probably just spent a long time on, and to keep from getting infections/ going blind. I just happened to put the contact in after for the sake of the tutorial. Do as I say not as I do ;)!

2 responses to “Makeup Tutorial Time!

  1. Sasha September 10, 2013 at 2:39 am

    I so wish I had this back in the days when I was belly dancing! I hadn’t worn make up in years and quite frankly forgot how to apply it. I had to wear though as I was in a tribal belly dancing group that performed occasionally. I had to get the other girls to do it for me.

    I’d love to get back into it but so rarely have anywhere to wear make up to. Maybe I’ll try this though with what I have tomorrow. No promises for posting a picture though. Everyone knows me sans makeup and very few have seen me with it on, I look very different! It would be a fun post though. 😀

    Thanks again!

    • Becca Bear September 10, 2013 at 1:01 pm

      I wish i knew how to do all this makeup when i was still in colorguard as well it would have been so helpful! Better late than never I suppose haha. Good luck pictures would be awesome if it turns out well. 😉

Leave a Reply

