BeccaBear's Blog

The cat’s pajamas

Insert foot into mouth

I took an Astronomy class once in college for an elective just because it seemed interesting. Well, I was disappointed. The big telescope in the top tower was broken.

Strike one.

All we talked about in class was dates of discoveries, the names of planets in our solar system (Pluto was a hot topic during one session), and stars are suns. A couple of other things too, I’m sure. However, if you want me to pay attention in a class you have to first get my… Well… Attention. You do not do this by impersonating Charlie Browns teacher while spouting off dates and history.

Strike two.

If we actually wanted to look at the stars we had to come after hours (8 pm or later) and bring our own telescope. Keep in mind the class itself is in the middle of the woods completely secluded from the main campus and it is the only class with the only teacher in the whole small building.

Strike three, you’re out!

So, what do I do instead? Doodle. And I still managed to get an A in the class.

The reason I’m telling you this is because I had the encounter I normally do when people sitting next to me are bored like myself and I am doodling: they just sit there and watch me. So this guy I have not spoke to the entire semester (the introvert in me told me not to talk to strangers) one day says

“You’re really talented.”

General “Thank you I appreciate it” conversation ensues and the introvert says “He’s cool, you can talk to him now.”

Well through continued conversation I find out this guy is some amazingly talented tattoo/ mural painting artist that is well known in the area. We got to talking about my fiances tattoos, since I had not received my first at that time, he bust out his random “doodles” and pictures of his work. I also found an article on him later about a mural he painted on the Boardwalk where I live.

I about fell on the floor he is so good.

And this kind if stuff alway happens to me: people with amazing talent see my drawings and tell me they’re good. If my drawings are good your drawings are God.

Im always appreciative when someone compliments my work but when I see theirs I just want to hide my head in shame. So much talent all around me! It makes me happy to see, kind of gives me something to aspire towards.

That being said I still continue my ultimate doodling quest to really look at something I’ve done and say “I am completely happy with this.”

Until then, I’ll just be my worst critic.

~Cheers.

20130824-121253.jpg

6 responses to “Insert foot into mouth

  1. truthspew August 24, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    Can’t be any worse than the robotics course I took. When we got into the room we found boxes with pieces of robots, but not enough to build a working robot. I promptly dropped the class. The net session they went with Lego NXT damn it.

    • Becca Bear August 24, 2013 at 6:40 pm

      That actually sounds like fun! Even if they don’t work you still have something to do. Id rather try building something that will never work rather than listening to worthless droning facts for hours.

  2. sonatano1 August 24, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    There’s nothing worse than a class that should be interesting but isn’t. Teachers who suck the life out of such subjects just… suck.
    Nice art!

  3. mcwatty9 August 26, 2013 at 12:56 am

    Wow. Outstanding drawing. Don’t be so hard on yourself.

Leave a Reply

