BeccaBear's Blog

The cat’s pajamas

Eragon

20130809-181833.jpg

“The sands of time cannot be stopped. Years pass whether we will them or not… But we can remember. What has been lost may yet live on in memories. That which you will hear is imperfect and fragmented, yet treasure it, for without you it does not exists. I give you now a memory that has been forgotten, hidden in the dreamy haze that lies behind us.”

Thats what the world is missing these days: a good story.

I wish I had more opportunity to sit with the elder and hear stories. And I’m not talking about what happened yesterday at the grocery store or how kids these days don’t appreciate anything.

But something real.

I don’t have memories of sitting in the living room while my grandparents told us stories about when they were growing up.
The war.
Love.
People I’ll never meet.

They’re still alive. I think when I go visit them this fall instead of playing board games all night we will tell stories. If this happens, maybe I will share them with you. If I remember.

Story telling is a lost art. Thats all I could think about when reading that quote. So much so, I had to blog about it because I couldn’t continue reading.

Do you get like that with books sometimes when you read something that really makes you think?

Quote from Eragon (book 1) by Christopher Paolini

Leave a Reply

