BeccaBear's Blog

The cat’s pajamas

U kno wut realy grindz ma gears?

When people type as seen above (ebonics).

Now, if they do not have the educational background to literally spell words correctly, I would understand. But even when I was a kid in school when typing like that became “popular” I still tried my best to spell correctly; I didn’t misspell words on purpose.

I have a cousin who is 18 years old and STILL, to this day, I am translating his sentences from badly spoken english to regular english (the english language is so weird sometimes. What’s even correct these days?). It is fairly aggravating.

And it only gets worse when I try to correct him. Kids these days.

Maybe I’m just too old for my age.

*Title reference to Family Guy season 4 episode 28

2 responses to “U kno wut realy grindz ma gears?

  1. Chuck July 27, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    But language is an ever evolving thing. It isn’t static, staid, nor should it be stuffy. It is dynamic, expressive and emotive. Still, there is something to be said for a purposely articulated thought in a properly edited sentence. So, as they say…”I feel ya’.” 😛

    • Becca Bear July 27, 2013 at 5:32 pm

      Haha I totally agree with your statement! That being said if someone were to express themselves in that way, through blogging or normal online conversation, I will not be reading it because I find it time consuming and aggravating ;P Glad you get me though!

Leave a Reply

